Adventures in Vegan Baking!

Further to a post I made on here about vegan-curious veggies and vegan baking, I've been exploring cutting out eggs and dairy in my baking. My first efforts were tasty but not very risky; vegan rock cakes, which I blogged about here:

Date, Walnut and Orange Rock Cakes (Vegan) | Penniless Vegetarian UK

While it's easy to substitute non-dairy milk for the cow kind, and non-dairy margarine for butter, the biggest challenge facing vegan bakers is to replicate the simultaneous binding and raising properties of eggs.

Vegans use a number of strategies to get around the lack of eggs, depending on what kind of cake is being baked and that's something I'm just beginning to learn about. Soya yoghurt, bananas, baking powder and vinegar, as well as ground flax seeds and more recently chia seeds are all employed in different ways.

I've been given some useful links to tips, that I can't access right now, but will update with shortly.

My next experiment is going to be with a vegan lemon drizzle cake - for Easter Sunday. I'm going to try this recipe here - fingers crossed:

Lemon Drizzle Cake | The Vegan Green

Anyone else bake veganly? Any tips, recipes or suggestions welcomed!

I have posted a super easy fruit cake which is vegan, will bump it up. Kruidkoek (Dutch spice cake) doesn't use eggs either

Quote Originally Posted by juker View Post
    I have posted a super easy fruit cake which is vegan, will bump it up. Kruidkoek (Dutch spice cake) doesn't use eggs either
    Ta Juker, i'll pop a link here if that's ok: Super quick/easy/healthy christmas cake recipe

Adn here's the link to the vegan baking tips page from the Post Punk Kitchen that I could'nt find before:
    Vegan Baking: The Post Punk Kitchen Shows You How! | Post Punk Kitchen | Vegan Baking & Vegan Cooking

I've made two vegan lemon drizzle cakes now, the first one was a disaster for reasons I now understand, and learning from my mistakes, the second turned out much better.